Print Shortlink

Club Award Winners


Each season, from the membership at large, Westside Football Club recognizes four standout individuals for their long term efforts to:

  • build and grow the club;
  • develop and enhance the social fabric of the club;
  • drive the club’s soccer success; and
  • promote and document the exploits of the club.



Jay Skelding #21 Award

Established in 1990, in memory of stalwart Westsider Jay Skelding and awarded annually to the most inspirational and dedicated Westside Football Club member (player, coach, manager, sponsor, etc.) as chosen by the sitting president.

Past Winners:

SeasonYearJay Skelding Award Winner
121990Simon Turrell
131991Karen Hallam
141992Doug Johnston
151993Don Johnston
161994Doug Schultz
171995Joel Hughes
181996Maeve Glass
191997Rino Orsato
201998Mary Fraser & Rob Dressel
211999Matt Mullen
222000Andrea Clarke
232001Rick Moore
242002Marcus Dressel & Nicolas Kulik
252003Keith Heald
262004Doug Johnston (2nd time)
272005Geoff Catliff
282006Tina Fell
292007Kelli Glass
302008Peter Coles
312009Peter Stannard
322010Leslie Bartsch & Kim Blake
332011Dale Robertson
342012Greg Kane
352013Melissa (Branion) Barrett
362014Carl Atterton
372015Brian Deo
382016Tom Johnston
392017Surinder Parmar


Bob Baldwin Award

Established in 2003, on the occasion of the 25th Anniversary of Westside Football Club in honour of founder Bob Baldwin and awarded annually to the player who embodies the spirit of Westside, leading their team by example on the field and off.

Past Winners:

SeasonYearBobby Baldwin Award Winner
252003Bobby Heseltine
262004Mark Sullivan
272005Maeve Glass
282006Peter Stannard
292007Andrea Clarke & Jason Small
302008Geoff Catliff
312009Karen Best
322010Heather Kisbee
332011Gillian Hervey
342012Neil Ambler
352013Jenn Gardiner
362014Martin Best
372015Tom Johnston
382016Andrea Neufeld
392017Deena Verappan


Vince Alvano Award

Established in 2003, on the occasion of the 25th Anniversary of Westside Football Club in honour of founder Vince Alvano and awarded annually to the coach or player whose drive to win and ability to motivate is an example to the rest of the club.

Past Winners:

SeasonYearVince Alvano Award Winner
252003Colin Pettingale
262004James Prescott
272005Rick Horvath
282006Sara Nathanson
292007Rob Freedman
302008Leah Wong-Moon
312009Keith Moore
322010Jason Small
332011Geoff Catliff
342012Mike Mosher
352013Alan Thom
362014Marcus Wild
372015Craig Chiasson
382016Mike Wicken
392017Gurjit Dhaliwal


Marcus Dressel Award

Established in 2008, in memory of Westside Football Club builder and goalkeeper Marcus Dressel and awarded annually to the club member who best captures the spirit of Westside in documenting the exploits of the club.

Past Winners:

SeasonYearMarcus Dressel Winner
302008Marcus Dressel (Posthumously)
312009Marcello Pavan
322010Guy Leslie
332011Melissa Barrett & Margaret Branion
342012Chris Lockhart
352013Hugh Meikle
362014Bill Stannard
372015Chloe Handley
382016Marcus Wild
392017Denise Halfyard

The Simon Turrel Award

A player who demonstrates tenacity and persistence on the field. The player who never wants to come off and always wants to continue to play even when the game is over. The player who is dedicated to practice and being at every game. They push hard every
minute they are on the field and through example they activate others to do the
SeasonYearSimon Turell Award Winner

Network-wide options by YD - Freelance Wordpress Developer